Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License
Legal Counsel from a Long Beach Criminal Attorney
Contrary to popular belief, nobody in California has an inherent right
to drive on the streets and highways. A driver's license bestows the
privilege to drive, and this privilege can at any time be suspended or
revoked by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Some of
the most common grounds for suspension include
hit and run, using a vehicle for lewd acts or prostitution within 1,000 feet of a
residence, road rage, failure to stop when required at a train crossing,
and recklessly fleeing a police officer.
If your driver's license has been suspended, you cannot legally drive
at any time during the period of the suspension. Driving with a suspended
license is not merely a traffic infraction; it is a misdemeanor criminal
offense, which is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
In addition, you would end up with a criminal conviction on your record,
which could make you ineligible for a job with certain employers. A repeat
offense carries a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail and up to a year,
and a fine of as much as $2,000. Further, you can expect to see your driver's
license suspension extended, and the state may impound your vehicle for
as long as 30 days.
Need legal support for your charges?
Contact us at the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau if you have been
arrested for driving while license suspended and want to find out about
strategies that can be used in your defense. A board-certified
criminal defense attorney from our team can represent you in court and seek to have the charges
dismissed or to exonerate you. Even if you are convicted, an Long Beach
attorney from our firm can still seek to negotiate with the prosecutor
for a reduced sentence or a plea bargain which works in your favor. Fill out our
free case evaluation form now to get the process started.