Penalties for DUI in Long Beach
DUI Sentencing and Punishments, and How to Protect Your Rights
If you have been arrested for
driving under the influence (DUI) in California, the penalties will entirely depend on the particular circumstances
of your case, including age, previous offenses, and level of intoxication. In California, penalties for a DUI include jail, fines, license suspension,
and installation of an interlock ignition device (IID).
At the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau, one of our Long Beach DUI lawyers is a
Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist with extensive experience in criminal defense. Not only are we familiar
with California DUI law, but we are also familiar with effective defenses
and courses of legal action that can minimize the penalties for our clients.
Contact us today at 562-888-9148
to learn more!
First-Time DUI and Repeat Offenses
Penalties for a driving under the influence are especially affected by
the number of previous offenses you have received. For a
first DUI, some counties may require you to have an interlock ignition device installed
in your vehicle.
Additional penalties include:
- Up to 6 months in county jail
- $1,500 to $2,500 in fines
- Driver's license suspension between 30 days and 10 months
second DUI offense, you can expect to face four days to one year in jail, fines ranging from
$1,800 and $2,800, and a license suspension of two years.
Third offense DUI convicts can suffer a $1,800 to $18,000 fine, 120 days to one year in
jail, and a license suspension of three years. IID's are mandatory
for those who suffer
Alcohol Treatment Programs for DUI Offenders
In many circumstances, drunk driving offenders in Long Beach are required
to take a state-approved alcohol treatment program. A program is likely
to be required for those with high BAC levels or for those who have received
multiple DUIs in a 10-year period. On a first offense DUI, you can be
required to take an alcohol treatment program if the chemical test represents
a result of 0.08% or higher. The length of the program can last between
3-9 months. Our team may help you minimize this program length and reduce
the other penalties you may suffer. Ideally, you may have the charges
Chemical Tests and California's Implied Consent Law
California has what is known is an implied consent law. By possessing a
California driver's license, you automatically consent to submit to a
chemical test to assess your level of intoxication. If you refuse, you can be arrested
for a DUI and have your license suspended.
For a first offense of refusing to take a chemical test, your license suspension
will be one year. For each subsequent refusal, the penalty will be increased
by one year. No matter what the reason for your arrest, you can suffer
severe penalties that can alter your current lifestyle. With prior convictions
already on your record, the penalties will continuously increase. Because
your defense attorney can help you
challenge DUI evidence, it is in your best interests to submit to a chemical test.
Want to learn more about the
DUI process? Call (562) 888-9148 today!
In addition to the penalties listed above, you may be required to obtain
a California SR-22 if convicted. Your insurance may have been cancelled
because of the drunk driving conviction. One reason for this cancellation
is if you receive a discount for being classified as a "Good Driver."
Within 45 days, you must obtain a new insurance policy. In many circumstances,
an SR-22 proof of insurance is required for drivers who seek to reinstate
a license after a conviction for DUI. If you are in need of information
for this step of the DUI process, we encourage you to discuss your case
with a member of our firm.
Why Hire a Long Beach DUI Lawyer?
Hiring an attorney for your DUI charges is an important first step for
your case. In the short-term, a
criminal defense lawyer can help you navigate a
DMV hearing and contest your charges, even representing you in court if necessary.
In the long-term, an attorney can be essential to protecting your freedoms
and reducing your chances of increased penalties for multiple convictions.
You have every reason to work with a competent lawyer, and at the Law
Office of Peacock & Le Beau, we believe we have the qualifications to
answer your questions and take your case.
Our legal team is marked by professionalism in all areas:
- Our attorneys have 40+ years of combined experience
- Attorney Stephen P. Peacock is a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist
We have been selected for inclusion in
- We have overseen more than 1,000 successful cases
If you are facing charges, we are prepared to do whatever it takes to challenge
the evidence in your case and help you seek a favorable outcome. Don’t
wait to get a qualified legal professional in your corner –
call our team at the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau to
request a free consultation and learn how we can help you.