Long Beach Suspended License Lawyer
Understanding California's Suspended License Laws
In the state of California, your license can be suspended for six months if you are convicted of road rage. For second and subsequent road rage offenses your license may be suspended for a year. Additionally, the court may order the convicted person to complete an anger management course.
Common Causes of License Suspension
Contrary to popular belief, nobody in California has an inherent right to drive on the streets and highways. A driver's license bestows the privilege to drive, and this privilege can at any time be suspended or revoked by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Some of the most common grounds for suspension include:
- Hit and Run
- Road Rage
- Recklessly fleeing a police officer.
- Failure to stop when required at a train crossing
- Using a vehicle for lewd acts or prostitution within 1,000 feet of a residence
What are the Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License?
If your driver's license has been suspended, you cannot legally drive at any time during the period of the suspension. Driving with a suspended license is not merely a traffic infraction; it is a misdemeanor criminal offense, which is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. In addition, you would end up with a criminal conviction on your record, which could make you ineligible for a job with certain employers. A repeat offense carries a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail and up to a year, and a fine of as much as $2,000. Further, you can expect to see your driver's license suspension extended, and the state may impound your vehicle for as long as 30 days.
Need legal support for your charges?
Contact us at the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau if you have been arrested for driving while license suspended and want to find out about strategies that can be used in your defense. A board-certified criminal defense attorney from our team can represent you in court and seek to have the charges dismissed or to exonerate you. Even if you are convicted, an Long Beach attorney from our firm can still seek to negotiate with the prosecutor for a reduced sentence or a plea bargain which works in your favor. Fill out our free case evaluation form now to get the process started.
Assault & Battery Dismissed
Domestic Violence Acquittal
Driving with Suspended License Dismissed
Drug Possession for Sales Reduced
Drug Possession for Sales Dismissed
DUI Drugs Reduced
Felony Domestic Violence with Great Bodily Injury Not Guilty
Grand Theft Reduced