Long Beach Assault Attorney
Whether you have been charged with simple assault or aggravated assault, you cannot afford to work with an underqualified defender—not when your future is all on the line. At the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau, you will find two Long Beach assault defense attorneys who have represented clients together for over two decades, bringing more than 40 years of collective experience to the courtroom.
What are other reasons to choose our Long Beach assault attorneys?
- Our legal advocates have successfully handled more than 1,000 criminal defense cases
- Both of our attorneys have been included in California Super Lawyers®
- One of our attorneys is a California State Bar certified criminal law specialist
- We offer a free initial consultation to help people review their defense options
Ready to begin crafting your defense? Find out how our Long Beach assault defense lawyers can fight for your future. Click here to set up your free case evaluation!
What is the Difference Between Assault and Battery?
Assault is defined under California Penal Code §240 as "an unlawful attempt, coupled with a present ability, to commit a violent injury on the person of another." Battery, on the other hand, occurs in cases where the perpetrator uses force on the victim of the crime.
As an example, if the perpetrator tries to hit the victim but misses, it is an assault, but if he succeeds in striking the blow, it is a battery. Both are violent crimes charges that require the representation of a skilled Long Beach assault defense attorney.
What must be proven in an assault charge?
In order to prove that you are guilty of assault, the prosecutor must be able to prove the following elements of the alleged crime:
- You attempted to use force against the other person
- This attempt was unlawful and not in self-defense
- You had a "present ability" to carry out the attack
What are the Penalties for Assault?
Assault can be charged as either a misdemeanor or as a felony, depending on the circumstances of the incident (such as domestic violence). Simple assault, as per the definition above, is a misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of six months in county jail and a $1,000 fine. The charge is increased to assault with a deadly weapon – also referred to as aggravated assault – in cases where the perpetrator is accused of using a knife, gun, or potentially lethal weapon at the time of the offense.
Assault with a deadly weapon is a "wobbler" offense, which means that it may be charged as a felony or misdemeanor. The penalty for misdemeanor assault is up to a year in jail and a fine of $10,000, while the sentence for felony assault carries the same fine and up to four years in state prison. It is important to note that a felony assault may be included as a strike on your criminal record, leading to a possible life sentence under California's tough Three Strikes law.
Speak With a Long Beach Assault Lawyer - Call (562) 888-9148!
Whether the goal is to clear your name or to obtain a favorable plea bargain, it is nearly always possible to achieve a better outcome by hiring an experienced Long Beach assault lawyer. With our team approach to criminal defense, you get a board-certified criminal law specialist working on your defense, helping you beat the charge and move on from this difficult experience.
Call our team now at the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau for a free evaluation! We are ready to discuss your case and personalized strategies for your defense.
Assault & Battery Dismissed
Domestic Violence Acquittal
Driving with Suspended License Dismissed
Drug Possession for Sales Reduced
Drug Possession for Sales Dismissed
DUI Drugs Reduced
Felony Domestic Violence with Great Bodily Injury Not Guilty
Grand Theft Reduced