Penalties for DUI in Long Beach
DUI Sentencing and Punishments, and How to Protect Your Rights
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in California, the penalties will entirely depend on the particular circumstances of your case, including age, previous offenses, and level of intoxication. In California, penalties for a DUI include jail, fines, license suspension, and installation of an interlock ignition device (IID).
At the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau, not only are we familiar with California DUI law, but we are also familiar with effective defenses and courses of legal action that can minimize the penalties for our clients.
Contact us today at 562-888-9148 to learn more about the DUI consequences in California!
First-Time DUI and Repeat Offenses
Penalties for a driving under the influence are especially affected by the number of previous offenses you have received. For a first DUI, some counties may require you to have an interlock ignition device installed in your vehicle.
Additional penalties include:
- Up to 6 months in county jail
- $1,500 to $2,500 in fines
- Driver's license suspension between 30 days and 10 months
For a second DUI offense, you can expect to face four days to one year in jail, fines ranging from $1,800 and $2,800, and a license suspension of two years. Third offense DUI convicts can suffer a $1,800 to $18,000 fine, 120 days to one year in jail, and a license suspension of three years. IID's are mandatory for those who suffer multiple convictions.
When Does a DUI Become a Felony in CA?
In California, a DUI can become a felony if you have three or more prior convictions for DUI, or if you are arrested and charged with a fourth DUI within 10 years. In addition, if the offense includes aggravating circumstances such as injury or death of another person or property damage, operating a vehicle with a minor passenger, or excessive alcohol concentrations (BAC of .20% or higher), then the charge may be considered a felony even if this is your first offense. Felony DUIs carry much harsher penalties than misdemeanors including potential prison time, fines of up to $10,000, longer license suspension periods, and other harsh DUI consequences.
Alcohol Treatment Programs for DUI Offenders
In many circumstances, drunk driving offenders in Long Beach are required to take a state-approved alcohol treatment program. A program is likely to be required for those with high BAC levels or for those who have received multiple DUIs in a 10-year period. On a first offense DUI, you can be required to take an alcohol treatment program if the chemical test represents a result of 0.08% or higher. The length of the program can last between 3-9 months. Our team may help you minimize this program length and reduce the other penalties you may suffer. Ideally, you may have the charges dismissed entirely.
Chemical Tests and California's Implied Consent Law
California has what is known is an implied consent law. By possessing a California driver's license, you automatically consent to submit to a chemical test to assess your level of intoxication. If you refuse, you can be arrested for a DUI and have your license suspended.
For a first offense of refusing to take a chemical test, your license suspension will be one year. For each subsequent refusal, the penalty will be increased by one year. No matter what the reason for your arrest, you can suffer severe penalties that can alter your current lifestyle. With prior convictions already on your record, the penalties will continuously increase. Because your defense attorney can help you challenge DUI evidence, it is in your best interests to submit to a chemical test.
Want to learn more about the DUI process? Call (562) 888-9148 today!
In addition to the penalties listed above, you may be required to obtain a California SR-22 if convicted. Your insurance may have been cancelled because of the drunk driving conviction. One reason for this cancellation is if you receive a discount for being classified as a "Good Driver." Within 45 days, you must obtain a new insurance policy. In many circumstances, an SR-22 proof of insurance is required for drivers who seek to reinstate a license after a conviction for DUI. If you are in need of information for this step of the DUI process, we encourage you to discuss your case with a member of our firm.
Why Hire a DUI Attorney in Long Beach, CA?
Hiring an attorney for your DUI charges is an important first step for your case. In the short-term, a criminal defense lawyer can help you navigate a DMV hearing and contest your charges, even representing you in court if necessary. In the long-term, an attorney can be essential to protecting your freedoms and reducing your chances of increased penalties for multiple convictions. You have every reason to work with a competent lawyer, and at the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau, we believe we have the qualifications to answer your questions and take your case.
Our legal team is marked by professionalism in all areas:
- Our attorneys have 40+ years of combined experience
- We have been selected for inclusion in Super Lawyers®
- We have overseen more than 1,000 successful cases
If you are facing charges, we are prepared to do whatever it takes to challenge the evidence in your case and help you seek a favorable outcome. Don’t wait to get a qualified legal professional in your corner – call our team at the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau to request a free consultation and learn how we can help you.
Recent Case ResultsA Firm with a Proven Track Record
Assault & Battery Dismissed
Domestic Violence Acquittal
Driving with Suspended License Dismissed
Drug Possession for Sales Reduced
Drug Possession for Sales Dismissed
DUI Drugs Reduced
Felony Domestic Violence with Great Bodily Injury Not Guilty
Grand Theft Reduced