Assault Defense Lawyer in Long Beach
Whether you have been charged with simple assault or aggravated assault,
you cannot afford to work with an underqualified defender—not when
your future is all on the line. At the Law Office of Peacock & Le
Beau, you will find two Long Beach assault defense attorneys who have
represented clients together for over two decades, bringing
more than 40 years of collective experience to the courtroom.
What are other reasons to choose our Long Beach assault attorneys?
- Our legal advocates have successfully handled more than 1,000 criminal
Both of our attorneys have been included in
California Super Lawyers®
- One of our attorneys is a California State Bar certified criminal law specialist
- We offer a free initial consultation to help people review their defense options
Ready to begin crafting your defense? Find out how we can fight for your future!
Click here to set up your FREE case evaluation!
What is the difference between assault and battery?
Assault is defined under California Penal Code §240 as "an unlawful
attempt, coupled with a present ability, to commit a violent injury on
the person of another." Battery, on the other hand, occurs in cases
where the perpetrator actually uses force on the victim of the crime.
As an example, if the perpetrator
tries to hit the victim but misses, it is an assault, but if he succeeds in
striking the blow, it is a battery. Both are
violent crimes that require the representation of a skilled
Long Beach criminal defense attorney.
What must be proven in an assault charge?
In order to prove that you are guilty of assault, the prosecutor must be
able to prove the following elements of the alleged crime:
- You attempted to use force against the other person
This attempt was
unlawful and not in self-defense
- You had a "present ability" (actually ability) to carry out the attack
Criminal Penalties for an Assault Conviction
Assault can be charged as either a misdemeanor or as a felony, depending
on the circumstances of the incident. Simple assault, as per the definition
above, is a misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of six months in county
jail and a $1,000 fine. The charge is increased to assault with a deadly
weapon – also referred to as
aggravated assault – in cases where the perpetrator is accused of using a knife, gun,
or potentially lethal weapon at the time of the offense.
Assault with a deadly weapon is a "wobbler" offense, which means
that it may be charged as a felony or misdemeanor. The penalty for misdemeanor
assault is up to a year in jail and a fine of $10,000, while the sentence
for felony assault carries the same fine and up to four years in state
prison. It is important to note that
a felony assault may be included as a strike on your criminal record, leading to a possible life sentence under California's tough Three
Speak with a Long Beach Criminal Defense Lawyer
Call (562) 888-9148 to request your free consultation!
Whether the goal is to clear your name or to obtain a favorable plea bargain,
it is nearly always possible to achieve a better outcome by hiring an
experienced Long Beach criminal defense lawyer. With our
team approach to criminal defense, you get a
board-certified criminal law specialist working on your defense, helping you beat the charge and move on from
this difficult experience.
Call our team now at the Law Office of Peacock & Le Beau for a
We are ready to discuss your case and personalized strategies for your defense.